Dawn: Questions & Answers

Inactivating Users in Dawn

Follow
Answered
Lonn, Matthew
Is there a way to inactivate users in Dawn? In other words, if I don't want users to be able to access the course any longer after a certain date, how would go about proceeding? The only thing I can find is the delete button for an individual user. I also realize that unpublishing the course removes it from the catalog. But I'd like to inactivate users that are currently in the course also. Thanks

Comments (1)

Sort by
Lee Jensen
  • Agilix team member

That is a good question. Coming from a background of popular LMS products it seems like this would be a reasonable feature. Currently there is no way to "unenroll a learner". The thinking is that since Dawn is not a subscription based service, the learner "paid" for the course they should be able to view it forever. If Dawn moved to a subscription payment model, which has been discussed, then pausing an enrollment would happen automatically at the end of the subscription.

I am very interested in your motivation for why you would want to unenroll a learner. Often un-enrollment is desired because the course is tied to a schedule in an attempt to force the learner to obtain mastery by a certain date. While deadlines have been shown to encourage activity, Dawn attempts to encourage mastery on the learner's schedule not a mandated one. Instead Dawn seeks to encourage activity through coach intervention, peer groups, gamification, and certification. But I'm only guessing on why you want to unenroll a learner. I'd love to hear your thoughts.

0 Comment actions Permalink
Please sign in to leave a comment.